News2021 World Fantasy Awards Announced

2021 World Fantasy Awards Announced


This content contains affiliate links. When you buy through these links, we may earn an affiliate commission.

The World Fantasy Conference was held this weekend in Montreal, Canada, with the theme of “Fantasy, Imagination and the Dreams of Youth”. The winners were announced at the end of the conference on Sunday in the following categories:


Trouble the saints By Alaia Down Johnson

A profound American saga that takes place against the backdrop of Harlem at the dawn of World War II. Full of dangerous magic and historical exploration compared to that of Coulson Whitehead The subway, Trouble the saints Is a story of love, loss and reinvention.


Riot Baby By Tochi Unibucci

Riot Baby Is another investigation of the black experience in the United States, centered on Ella and her brother Keb. The ability of these to see the future is both empowering and harmful, and Keb tries to protect it to the best of his ability. But Kav’s incarceration makes it difficult, and Ella must make a decision on how to balance her powers with the need to see her brother suffer.

Short literature

“Glass Bottle Dancer” by Celeste Rita Baker b Lightspeed Magazine, 20/4


The great book of modern fantasy Edited by Ann and Jeff Vandermir

The fantasy genre has accompanied humans since we started telling stories. The VanderMeers collected stories from the 1960s to the 2010s to create an amazing anthology of modern fantasy that covers everything from roaring giants to towering dragons to dangerous forests. 91 These stories include authors like Stephen King, Ursula K.. To Gwyn and Terry Pratchett. This is an accompanying volume to The great book of the classic fantasy.


Where are the wild women By Aoko Matsuda

Described as a ‘witty and abundant collection of stories,’ Where are the wild women Is a feminist reconstruction of traditional Japanese legends. It is populated by spirited women – both living and spirited – who are no longer afraid of their “feminine” desires, but celebrated and nurtured. if you extension Lucky, the mysterious Mr. Ty may recruit you to join his girlfriend.


Rubina Kai

Special award – professional

CC Finlay for F&SF editing

Special award – unprofessional

Brian Atbury for The Journal of the Fantastic in the Arts

World Fantasy Award Statue.  It is a trapezoidal wood base with knotted wood that holds a golden moon.
Source: World Fantasy Convention (

World Fantasy Awards have been given since 1975; Previous novel winners include Ursula K. To Gwyn for The other spirit (2002), Louise Erdrich for The wife of the antelope (1999), and G. Willow Wilson for The Invisible Champion (2013). While the awards focus solely on works originally written in English or translated into English, the winners are international and more diverse than can be imagined. Nnedi Okorafor took the Novel Award in 2011 for Who is afraid of death, And Haruki Murakami in 2006 for Kafka on the beach.

The World Fantasy Conference also presented the Lifetime Achievement Awards to Howard and Dorf and Megan Lindholm.

Book awards were under similar scrutiny as film awards due to their tendency to support white male writers. In the case of the World Fantasy Awards, this seems to have been addressed earlier, and especially since 2020 the award winners across the categories are an interesting cross-section of the fantasy advertising world. You can find a complete list of winners Here, And the candidates Here.

Congratulations to all the nominees and winners of the Global Fantasy Awards for 2021.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Writers, Ink Podcast: Kerrie Droban Explains How to Craft a True Crime Page-Turner

BookTrib is proud to present to our readers the Writers, Inc podcast, a show about the business of writing. JK...

TimeOuts Titanic | LITERARY TITAN

Timeouts are a way of life for Zoey. She is put in a timeout for virtually anything she...

The Best Mystery and Thriller Deals of the Day: July 24, 2023

Mystery/Thriller Deals Deals July 24, 2023 This content contains affiliate links. When you buy through these links, we may earn an...

Get Rec’d with Amanda – Volume 46

Welcome back to Get Rec'd! Can you tell I'm ready for cooler temperatures and the lead up to Halloween? ...

GOING UNDER and THE TUSKEGEE STRANGER are Finalists for the 17th Annual Killer Nashville Silver Falchion Award! • WildBlue Press

THE TUSKEGEE STRANGLER: The "Nicest" Serial Killer They Ever Met by Linda Lou Long unravels the chilling story...

Must read

You might also likeRELATED
Recommended to you