Blog TourBlog Tour Review with Giveaway: Once Upon a K-Prom...

Blog Tour Review with Giveaway: Once Upon a K-Prom by Kat Cho

-

I am thrilled to be hosting a spot on the ONCE UPON A K-PROM by Kat Cho Blog Tour hosted by Rockstar Book Tours. Check out my post and make sure to enter the giveaway!

I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour Review with Giveaway: Once Upon a K-Prom by Kat ChoOnce Upon a K-Prom by Kat Cho
Published by Disney-Hyperion on May 17, 2022
Genres: YA Contemporary Romance
Pages: 336
Source: the publisher
Format: Hardcover
My Rating: five-stars
Goodreads

Find it: Amazon, Kindle, Audible, B&N, iBooks, Kobo, TBD, Bookshop.org

Blurb:

What would you do if the world’s biggest K-pop star asked you to prom? Perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Sandhya Menon, this hilarious and heartfelt novel brings the glamor and drama of the K-pop world straight to high school.

Elena Soo has always felt overshadowed. Whether by her more successful older sisters, her more popular twin brother, or her more outgoing best friend, everyone except Elena seems to know exactly who they are and what they want. But she is certain about one thing – she has no interest in going to prom. While the rest of the school is giddy over corsages and dresses, Elena would rather spend her time working to save the local community center, the one place that’s always made her feel like she belonged.

So when international K-pop superstar Robbie Choi shows up at her house to ask her to prom, Elena is more confused than ever. Because the one person who always accepted Elena as she is? Her childhood best friend, Robbie Choi. And the one thing she maybe, possibly, secretly wants more than anything? For the two of them to keep the promise they made each other as kids: to go to prom together. But that was seven years ago, and with this new K-pop persona, pink hair, and stylish clothes, Robbie is nothing like the sweet, goofy boy she remembers. The boy she shared all her secrets with. The boy she used to love.

Besides, prom with a guy who comes with hordes of screaming fans, online haters, and relentless paparazzi is the last thing Elena wants – even if she can not stop thinking about Robbie’s smile… right?

My Review

I was hooked from the very beginning of this, and could barely put it down, even though I actually had a concert by my favorite boy band when I was a teenager to go to the night I started reading this. If I hadn’t gone to the New Kids on the Block concert the night I started this one, I could probably have sat and read this all in one day. You see, I love boy bands. They’re my jam, have been since I was a teen. So the whole K-Pop thing is one that I can totally support my students and other people who love it. And I’ll admit, I’ve been downloading more BTS songs lately and learning the words and singing along in my car, lol.

But it was more than just that for this story that made me love it so much. The teenage angst was perfect, I loved that even with different cultural issues, still teens had the same feelings and wants and needs at that age. And then I loved that Robbie was also not a perfect boy. He was a teen boy. And a teen boy who was part of a band, in a world where his life had been carefully controlled and orchestrated the way the managers and CEOs wanted. The friendships between Elana and her friends, as well as between Robbie and his bandmates all seemed just real to me. Even the enemies Elena had, former friends, were real people, and when things all unfolded towards the end, it was a perfect way to see that even the people you do not like or know or understand, are just people too, and just give them a chance! It might change your opinion if you got to know them.

And back to the boy band stuff and fans. I loved how they worried how the fans would deal with them dating. You always wonder how much is real and how much is for publicity, especially as you learn about what actually happened in real life with boy bands you followed, or maybe that’s just me. The little bio sheets on each of the band members spread throughout the story were so much fun. And wow, do they really share blood types? Crazy!

While one thing about the whole prom at the end disappointed me, it also totally made sense the way it all worked out. I really loved this story so much! I do not know that a lot of students at my new school are as into K-Pop as the students at my last school. But that does not mean I’m not going to provide these awesome books for them to hopefully get hooked!

And oh, as if the cover is not beautiful enough, the poster / image on the inside is awesome as well, this is a MUST-OWN physical copy.

About the Author

Kat Cho used to hide books under the bathroom sink and then sneak in there to read after bedtime. Her parents pretended not to know. This helped when she decided to write a dinosaur time-travel novel at the tender age of nine. Sadly, that book was not published. She currently lives and works in NYC and spends her free time trying to figure out what kind of puppy to adopt. Kat is the internationally bestselling author of the Gumiho duology (Penguin) and Once Upon a K-Prom (Disney).

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | TikTok | Goodreads | Amazon | BookBub | Write or Die Podcast

Giveaway

  • 1 winner will receive a finished copy of ONCE UPON A K-PROM, US Only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Schedule

Week One:

Week Two:

Week Three:

Week Four:

Week Five:

Please follow and like us:


0
fb-share-icon0

0

Pin Share20

Source

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest

Book Riot’s Deals of the Day for June 29, 2022

This content contains affiliate links. When you buy through these links, we may earn an affiliate commission. Oxford University...

Book Review: Primitive – Independent Book Review

Reviewed by Samantha Hui Explore the complexity of human existence as that which comes naturally in this deeply original collection "But...

My favorite bookish memes of the week (pt. 4) – Right Writing Words

Welcome back, friends! Today, we're continuing on with this series of memes I found on Bookstagram! Here we go! I sound...

E-galley Review: Mansplainer (Last Man Standing #3) by Avery Flynn

Posted June 27, 2022 by Lisa Mandina in Review / 2 Comments I received this book for free from the...

A Historical Mystery, Contemporary Romance, & More

The Princess Knight The Princess Knight by GA Aiken is $ 2.99 and it's part of today's Kindle Daily...

Must read

You might also likeRELATED
Recommended to you