adultCaffeinated Reviewer | A Match Made at Matlock by...

Caffeinated Reviewer | A Match Made at Matlock by Jan Ashton, Julie Cooper, Amy D’Orazio, and Jessie Lewis

-

22nd Jun

Sophia Rose is here with a review of A Match Made at Matlock by Jan Ashton, Julie Cooper, Amy D’Orazio, and Jessie Lewis, a regency romance for fans of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice. Come see why she gave this one five cups.

A Match Made at Matlock
by Jan Ashton, Julie Cooper, Amy D’Orazio, Jessie Lewis
Genres: Historical Romance
Source: Publisher
Purchase *: Amazon | Audible * affiliate

Goodreads

Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

A regency romance for fans of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice

VISCOUNT SAYE, eldest cousin of Fitzwilliam Darcy of Pemberley, is startled one wintry day by the news that his beloved, Lillian Goddard, is to become engaged to another. Unwilling to lose her, he quickly plans a party at his ancestral estate to woo her away from her suitor. Twenty ladies and gentlemen respond to his invitation, eager for a fortnight of revelry in Saye’s inimitable style.

FITZWILLIAM DARCY, AT LAST ENGAGED to his beloved Elizabeth Bennet, finds himself stymied by her father. Mr Bennet has consented to the engagement but forces them to endure a prolonged courtship, with too much time spent apart. Getting Elizabeth to the house party is only the first in a series of frustrations and challenges that confront them. Will their love and attachment prevail?

GEORGETTE HAWKRIDGE HAS ALL THE FINEST QUALITIES of a lady of fashion. Alas, she has fallen in love with a decidedly unfashionable man, an affection they have kept well-concealed. Two weeks is a long time to hide, however, and the truth of what they mean to one another — and the man her suitor really is — must eventually emerge.

COLONEL RICHARD FITZWILLIAM ATTENDS his brother’s party with no thought for anything but time among friends; after all, he is too poor to marry, an idea that rankles, particularly when he must watch love bloom around him. Then he meets Sarah Bentley, a pretty, wealthy girl with a predilection for admiring the unlovable; but will he know his heart before it’s too late?

AMID MASQUES AND MARVELS, love will abound; attachments will be formed, tried, and tested, and one couple’s engagement will come to an end. For all who heed the summons, it will be an unforgettable fortnight at Matlock!

A Match Made at Matlock is an Austenesque regency romance perfect for fans of Georgette Heyer and Pride & Prejudice.

Sophia Rose’s Review

A comedy of manners ensues when a mischievous yet cunning Viscount learns the lady of his affections is on the verge of an engagement to another man. Four authors tag team to weave one fluid tale of madcap romance for four fortuitous couples that is set in Jane Austen’s world.

There are four different romance pairs among the guests at a country house party and all have their own rough road to marriage. Each chapter is devoted to a specific pair and alternating point of view so that all eight main characters get their time to shine. A few of the characters are in a continuation of what was started in Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice, but the majority of the characters are new creations from the team of authors. Even the familiar names and backdrop of Mr. Darcy and Miss Elizabeth Bennet along with Colonel Fitzwilliam will have a wholly new feel because the tone of this book, as stated in the blurb, is more Georgette Heyer’s sparkling comedy style of Regency romp than Jane Austen’s.

A Match Made at Matlock was well written and the transitions were seamless to me. I never felt the shifts between four authors. Granted, with the setup of four very different couples and their circumstances, there was already a change between chapters and styles that felt organic.

I was pleasantly surprised to enjoy all the pairs equally, but differently because of their personalities and various circumstances. Viscount Saye has been a favorite side character in several of Amy D’Orazio’s older books and it was fun seeing him in his own romance where he must convince his lady that he is a sure and steady bet under his frivolity. Darcy and Lizzy might think they have arrived because of their commitment, but they learn that a relationship is an ongoing and precious effort. Saye’s younger brother, Colonel Fitzwilliam, must fight through the battles of bitterness and envy to fall in love with an unlikely heroine, a scientist’s daughter, with awkward ways. And, their cousin Georgette is in a secret romance with a good man who has family circumstances unwelcome and too embarrassing for her family to accept. I appreciated the fun of yet another outrageous side character in Georgette’s friend and mentor ‘Loppy’ who saves the day.

A Match Made at Matlock was high entertainment and heartwarming. The country house party setting and activities were delightful. All in all it was a thorough charmer and enticing to sweet historical romance fans.

Amazon | Audible

Looking for a higly entertaining and heartwarming tale? Check out A Match Made at Matlock by Jan Ashton, Julie Cooper, Amy D’Orazio, and Jessie Lewis. #historicalromance #bookreview #SophiaRose Click To Tweet

About Jan Ashton

Jan Ashton

Jan Ashton did not meet Jane Austen until she was in her late teens, but in a happy coincidence, she shares a similarity of name with the author and celebrates her birthday on the same day Pride & Prejudice was first published.
Like so many Austen fans, Jan was an early and avid reader with a vivid imagination and a well-used library card. Her family’s frequent moves in the US and abroad encouraged her to think of books and their authors as reliable friends. She is a life member of the Jane Austen Society of North America and co-founder of Quills & Quartos Publishing.

caffeinated coffee cup divider

Stay Caffeinated!

Never miss a post by adding Caffeinated to your Inbox

About Sophia Rose

Sophia Rose

Sophia is a quiet though curious gal who dabbles in cooking, book reviewing, and gardening. Encouraged and supported by an incredible man and loving family. A Northern Californian transplant to the Great Lakes Region of the US. Lover of Jane Austen, Baseball, Cats, Scooby Doo, and Chocolate. Associate Reviewer for Delighted Reader blog.

Photo of kimbacaffeinate

About Kimberly

Kimberly is a coffee loving book addict who reads and listens to fictional stories in all genres. Whovian, Ravenclaw, Howler and proud Nonna. She owns and manages Caffeinated PR. The coffee is always on and she is ready to chat.

Twitter | Facebook | Instagram




Source

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest

Book Riot’s Deals of the Day for June 29, 2022

This content contains affiliate links. When you buy through these links, we may earn an affiliate commission. Oxford University...

Book Review: Primitive – Independent Book Review

Reviewed by Samantha Hui Explore the complexity of human existence as that which comes naturally in this deeply original collection "But...

My favorite bookish memes of the week (pt. 4) – Right Writing Words

Welcome back, friends! Today, we're continuing on with this series of memes I found on Bookstagram! Here we go! I sound...

E-galley Review: Mansplainer (Last Man Standing #3) by Avery Flynn

Posted June 27, 2022 by Lisa Mandina in Review / 2 Comments I received this book for free from the...

A Historical Mystery, Contemporary Romance, & More

The Princess Knight The Princess Knight by GA Aiken is $ 2.99 and it's part of today's Kindle Daily...

Must read

You might also likeRELATED
Recommended to you