‎ Unsolicited PressPACIFIC a NOVEL by Trevor J. Houser

PACIFIC a NOVEL by Trevor J. Houser

-

What is a desperate father willing to do to save his son … and what if it means withstanding deadly storms in the home and escape?

On a remote Vogt Island, Chief of Police Bell navigates his work and his marriage in his wake Pacific OceanBrain surgery is almost a death of the son. When his wife no longer wants to seduce the fate of experimental medicine, he takes matters into his own hands. With the help of his spacious fishing buddy, Bell kidnaps his son and sets out for Guatemala in search of the mysterious Dr. Haas. them.

With mesmerizing descriptions of the Northwest Pacific, Central America and the miles in between, the Prohibition captures the heartbreak and hope of a desperate parent, while maintaining a dark sense of humor and playful language that turns everyday life into something mythical. “If you’re a dad, or know one, Trevor Hauser’s Pacific is a wild and quiz ride that will challenge your understanding of what it’s like to be a parent,” says Larry Colton, author of The Southern League and Revolution Count. For fans of Dennis Johnson, Richard Brautigan and Jenny Ophil, Pacific reminds us that there is magic, beauty and hope in the world, if only we would be willing to go and look for it..

Questions and Answers with Trevor J. who forbids

Writer of Pacific Ocean

Question 1. This is your first novel. How was writing a full-length piece different from the short stories and other excerpts you published?

Trevor J. forbidding: Although this is my first novel published, most novelists have a closet full of novels they have already written that failed for one reason or another. For me the biggest difference in writing a novel is conserving the energy of this initial idea. Maintain the consistency of this voice, of this style for many months.

2. Family and fatherhood are a major issue throughout Pacific Ocean. Has your family life inspired your writing of this book?

TJH: I have a son who was diagnosed with a rare brain disease. After years of navigating all the unknown and not really writing there was suddenly some light at the end of the tunnel with his prognosis and soon after I found myself writing this book. Pacific Ocean It is based in part on the experiences we had with our son, but much of it is an invented fantasy of a parent wishing they could do something simpler than talk to a million doctors and not sleep at night. While the way Chief Bell shows his love for his son may be considered unconventional, he demonstrates how fathers are just as capable as mothers in the depths of their feelings and devotion.

3. How did the Northwest Pacific affect your story?

TJH: I grew up in Oregon, but after leaving college I lived for years in places like New York, San Francisco and Argentina. When I returned to the Northwest Pacific with my family a few years ago, I think I forgot how exotic and rich this place is. It took so long to get away from appreciating its strange beauty, and this is what I hoped this book would be: strange and beautiful.

4.Fans which writers / books do you think will enjoy Pacific Ocean And why?

TJH: Hopefully fans of writers like Kate Jennings and Jenny Ophil will love it because of the accuracy of their sentence level in stories of hope and heartbreak. Donald Bartlem and Richard Brautigan for their playfulness with their language and form and sense of humor. Dennis Johnson for his melancholy weirdness. All of my favorite writers tend to elevate the everyday through their language to make the everyday transcendent. Make ordinary life almost mythical. This is something I try to achieve at the trial level and continue to build it so that it goes through the whole narrative

5. What’s next for you and Pacific Ocean?

TJH: My second novel comes out in 2023. It deals with a math enthusiast who believes he has discovered a theorem that may predict when and where the next mass shooting will take place.

6. How about a sample?

The following is an excerpt from episode 1 of Pacific by Trevor J. Husser.

Captain America was here

I have a family. In the gray island mists north of Seattle I have them. We bought a house in a place called Wolf Island with a large Asian maple overlooking Padilla Bay. The first spring I drank wine on the terrace and felt so proud. Sunlight through the fog and the moss-covered trees. Feeling we have ‘Run out of gas’ emotionally. Familiar with this feeling?

But now we have a child who could die.

No one is sure. So many children are dying. But this is our kid, so it’s different.

He has a rare brain disease. As so rare if you say it in most hospitals they look at you with kind but free eyes, like trout eyes when you lower it back into a cold spring stream.

Now I’m sitting on street corners. I sit there and look at mountains or apartment buildings between me and the mountains. I sit there looking at cars and houses and lawn mowers with icicles.

We once talked to the doctors and they laughed. We all tried to laugh. We have all tried to make it something we can control. It was something that humans had power over like the stock market or electronics. It was something that did not make you want to go back in time when the world was saturated and beautiful and uninfected. It was another person. It was a man who put a little blue sweater on this kid. He hated hats. He hated wearing shoes. He hated so many things.

Now we go to the doctor and laugh.

He looks at nurses and jokes and runs down the halls and they laugh. Bells. Stars. Planets pass. He is beneath all this and he shows God what it means. God is probably looking down. God is looking down, I’m sure. God is watching over him and in his rare sick mind that he is so rare and sick that his pediatrician has never heard of him.

One afternoon I was crying over the sink while eating an avocado.

It was an old avocado I was still eating in its clinging wrap as more clouds formed over our small, bumpy yard. I ate the avocado and looked at our yard, the mysterious lumps, the sky, the trees. I just slid half of the avocado into my mouth, thinking about my son. His brain has too large blood vessels. His little heart. His little heart is so small.

I can be important. I could drive a motorboat over a glacier with the band Dave Matthews playing on the bow and nothing would change. I could be the Navy seal, the best ever, and his brain would still have too much blood in it. These tools were magnified. His eyes would widen as we watched some silent game show on a TV pinned to a wall surrounded by other children facing the possibility of death. His mind was expanding. Or already has.

On Sundays, we play Captain America.

He has the pajamas with the stars and stripes. He ran so fast and almost jumped over the bed. He runs and jumps on the bed and makes that noise that he did not scream but he has the same energy of screaming.

He makes a noise.

He jumps and laughs.


About the writer

Trevor J. forbidding He is an advertising copywriter living with his family in Seattle, Washington. He studied creative writing with Thomas Blair at Columbia University. His stories have been published in dozens of literary journals, including Zyzzyva, Quarterly story, And Review by Dr. TJ Eckleburg. He has been nominated three times for the Pushkart Award. He also received a special mention in The Best American Fantasy Vol. You can find the author at Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, And www.houserfiction.com. Pacific Ocean Is his first novel.

Material Link Disclosure: Some of the links in the post above are “Affiliate Links”. This means that if you click on the link and purchase the item, I will receive an affiliate commission. Regardless, I only recommend products or services that I personally use and believe will add value to my readers. I disclose this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Recommendations and Testimonials in Advertising.”

McAfee USA

Source

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest

HaBO: She Doesn’t Curse | Smart Bitches, Trashy Books

Help A Bitch Out This HaBO is from Gloriamarie, who wants to track down this book: I am embarrassed to admit...

My Wife is Missing, a review by Di – The Book Review Crew

MY WIFE IS MISSINGDJ Palmer St Martins Press384 pagesMay 10, 2022 Amazon | Goodreads For me, this is a hard book to...

What Lies Beneath by K.A. Pryde and Amber Faye

SUMMARY What Lies Beneath tells the story of: Viola West, an internal writer at Slander Studios. She hopes to make...

GOOD VIBRATIONS (The Brodie Brothers #3) by KAYLEY LORING

'Here's what I know: Agony is having a daughter who wants something that she can not have and you...

IndieView with Ethan Avery, author of Sword & Sorcery: Frostfire |

This is a project I started working on about 15 years ago alongside my good friend Lamont Turner who...

Caffeinated Reviewer | Sunday Post #525 Last Week of School

Sunday Post # 525 Last Week of School ...

Must read

You might also likeRELATED
Recommended to you